Pink Parcel: July 2016 [Review]

As discussed in my previous post, I have been struggling quite a bit with my mental health and as such, subscription box reviews and Lush were put on the back burner. I am now playing catch up with reviews and trying to complete posts I commenced writing months ago (including this one). You’ll probably have noticed that there is no review of June’s Pink Parcel. This is because there was a payment error on the company’s side and by the time I finally got around to amending details on my side, I had missed the postage cut-off date. Oops!

Back to the July box, which was a bit of a dud for me. With the exception of two items, I was not enthralled by the box at all. Although the Pink Parcel company had shuffled their internal packaging around so as to fit in more products for its subscribers, I did not quite see a quantitative gain. However, as discussed below, this does not remove the fact that Pink Parcel remains excellent value for money.

General House-Keeping:

Pink Parcel can be subscribed to via the following website: https://www.pinkparcel.co.uk/ Currently, the company are offering a first time subscription price of £.6.99, thereafter the box will be £.10.50 inclusive of UK delivery – Bargain price already! International delivery is not available at present.

How the box works: The parcel’s arrival is scheduled in relation to the days of your menstrual cycle, arriving in time for your period. During the initial subscription stage, you are given the option to select which sanitary products you require.  For example, you can select between tampons or towels, as well as whether they are to cater for heavy or light periods. Essentially the box is tailored to your personal menstrual needs. This means no more being caught short as you’ll always have a generous supply to spread storage between various locations.

The Box Itself:

The images below show the contents of July’s box.

thumbnail__20160802_222216thumbnail_2016-08-22-07-10-08

The box contained a generous number of sanitary products, as well as: a logo nail file; Choco Leibniz biscuits; Jelly Pong Pong eyeshadow; Freeman Bare Foot lavender and mint foot cream; Lottie London nail polish; Bellapierre gel eyeliner; tea and a Patisserie De Bain hand cream.

Although this month’s box was essentially a dud for me, there were two products that did halt the box from being a complete disappointment. In fact, I would go so far so as to say I became highly excited when I saw them. These products were the eyeliner and eyeshadow pictured in the following sections.

thumbnail_2016-08-22-07-11-04

I absolutely love eyeliner. If I could only use one makeup item for the rest of my life, it would be eyeliner. It is my go to product and I feel exposed and vulnerable when I do not have any on. I suppose apart from being an awesome product for defining eyes, it acts as a protection barrier for me. But I digress. The Bellapierre gel eyeliner is an interesting new addition to my disturbingly large eyeliner collection, as surprisingly, I have never owned or used a gel eyeliner before. I was not disappointed.

Prior to testing the eyeliner, I looked into the company’s ethics. Thankfully, the manufacturing of and the resulting product(s) are cruelty-free. This is a huge plus for me and only after confirming this did I try the eyeliner.

According to the Bellapierre website, this product retails at £20. Already this product alone means that the July Pink Parcel is value for money. In terms of the eyeliner’s functionality, I found it quite difficult to apply. It has quite a firm and rubbery texture. Once applied it was also difficult to remove for correction purposes. However, this indicates good staying power which is something I have struggled to find in an eyeliner over the years. Particularly as I like my eye makeup to be bold in appearance. Additionally, the gel itself glided over and under my eyelids smoothly; suggesting a steadier hand, or more practice for gel novices like myself, will have more application success. Colour wise, the applied appearance was striking but not as dramatic as I would have liked. This is down to personal taste, however.

thumbnail__20160802_222352

I was most excited about the Jelly Pong Pong eyeshadow because it is a vegan cosmetic product. The colours are right up my street too. The website asserts that it produces ‘zero fall-out whether used with fingers or brush’. I can confirm that based on the times I tested this out, no eyeshadow sprinklings landed on my cheeks or surrounding eye area. Massive bonus!

What makes this eyeshadow extra special for me with regards to usage is the intensity of the colour when it is applied. As stated previously, I love my eyes to look bold and dramatic. This little beauty ticks these boxes. On the Jelly Pong Pong website, this eyeshadow retails at £17.95.

Additionally, I am absolutely overjoyed that Pink Parcel are continually including vegan products within their boxes. Not only because I have been advocating cruelty free cosmetics for many years. But because by including these lovely items within their packages they too are broadening access to the cruelty-free cosmetic markets, potentially reaching those who are unaware of the vast array of high quality and affordable vegan products available.[1] Or those who, for convenience, finance or whatever reason, just purchase what they fancy at their local Body Care/Superdrug without considering the source of their product. Consequently, the eye shadow inclusion is argued as an all-round positive as cosmetics are luxuries, not necessities. The suffering of a living creature for their creation can never be justified.

The Lottie London nail polish ranges between £3.99-£5.99 on various websites. I am not a fan of the colour, although I have tested it on one nail. It takes a little while to dry but it does give off a nice finish which means I can forgive the drying time.

The tweezers were only opened for a glancing quality check. I do not use tweezers and even if I did, the ‘vintage’ look of their design would put me off keeping them. I really do not like florally, vintage styles. They’re not bold enough for me and I find them too ‘granny’ like. Nevertheless, I do appreciate the pretty, professional and good quality packaging. As such, they will be a great stocking filler this year. The tweezers themselves are sturdy and I think they will be fairly durable.

The tea and nail file I have difficulty pricing as these most likely derived from a bulk purchase to be distributed between each Pink Parcel. Whilst the foot cream appears to retail around 99p.

Finally, the Patisserie De Bain hand cream smells lovely and you only need to use a small amount for sufficient coverage. If too much is used it does leave a slightly greasy residue. The retail price for this hand cream is £3.99.

In Summary:

Although the majority of July’s Pink Parcel did not cater to my tastes, I appreciate the undeniable value for money the box provided. As with my first Pink Parcel package, the value of the products within this month’s box far outweighed the subscription price. When I think about it, I cannot believe how much subscribers get for the price paid. The box is suitable for those who require a little pick me up during a rotten time of the month.

Additionally, I still love and would highly recommend Pink Parcel. Although I would rather not have had bulking up items such as the nail file. As this ‘extra’ seems to have been added as part of the extra products for internal structure reorganisation sales rationale.

Finally, and most importantly, I would like to say a huge thank you to Pink Parcel for continuing to supply our boxes with ethical cosmetics. This factor alone keeps me hooked on the box. Keep up the good work and I cannot wait for my next parcel!

If you enjoyed this post and would like to see more subscription reviews, please follow this blog.

[1] For those who find the price of the Jelly Pong Pong range out with their budget, there are many lower priced vegan cosmetics available.

Leave a Reply

