My Little Pony Box: August and September 2016 [Subscription Box Review]

Introduction:

As I have managed to fall far behind in reviewing (and at times opening any subscription boxes at all), I have merged the August and September My Little Pony (MLP Box) boxes into one discussion. In addition, as each box only contains 1-2 items, merging their discussion together would not create an overwhelming word-fest review to read. As would be the case with other subscription boxes I receive, as they usually contain at least 7 items.

The boxes are discussed in chronological order. First, the general house-keeping of the boxes is discussed.

General House-Keeping:

The MLP Box is a subsidy service provided by brony.com. Brony.com is an online base for MLP Bronies.[1] This base is predominantly dedicated to all things relating to the My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic franchise. The site has an online shop selling MLP merchandise and a blog area filled with the latest MLP news and releases. The subscription box and sign up can be found here.

The box retails at $9.99 plus shipping (USA: $3.25, International: $6.85). When converted into GBP the grand total for the box and shipping equates to around £12.69. Each box promises to provide one to two items of officially licensed MLP merchandise. The items within the box are promised to value between $20-$25. In British pounds this translates to around £15.06-£18.83. On this price excluding shipping, the promised value of products is a prima facie bargain.

Furthermore, in my July MLP Box review I made reference to the slow shipping and poor communication from the company’s customer services. In reference to the slow shipping, both the boxes within this post arrived around a week after the stated shipping date.[2] However, I received neither a shipping notification nor tracking details; just as had occurred with the July box. Therefore, the earlier communication assertion remains the same. Nevertheless, I do like this box and its contents, and for this reason I will continue my subscription for the time being.

The Box Itself:

This section discusses the contents and value for money of August and September’s MLP Boxes, respectively.

MLP Box: August

thumbnail_2016-10-15-19-23-12

August’s box featured a Rainbow Dash t-shirt and matching pin (badge). I was both pleased and unimpressed with these items. I shall cover the positive aspects first J.

I love the fact that there was a t-shirt and badge within the box, as these are items that can be used in an every day context. The t-shirt is of excellent quality. The material is thick and cosy. All good so far. As for the badge, well, I love badges. Seriously. I have a lot of badges and patches scattered about on various bags and pairs of jeans.

thumbnail__20161015_192031.jpg

The only negative I found with the box was that it solely featured Rainbow Dash. As I stated in July’s MLP Box review, I am not a Rainbow Dash fan. This is despite the fact that I love rainbows, especially rainbow concentrated apparel. This criticism is purely a personal down point to the box and as such, does not reflect monetary value of the box as a whole.

I could not find a price for the design of t-shirt I received. However, similar t-shirts on the Brony.com website are priced at 18.95 USD (approx. 15.07 GBP). I assume the t-shirt came from the Brony store, as it is the parent company of MLP Box subsidy. The badge retails for 4 USD (approx. 3.18 GBP).

Overall, with regards to value for money, the cost of the box versus the contents retail price means the August MLP Box withstood the monetary test.

MLP Box: September

thumbnail_img_20161103_185907

September’s MLP Box featured: a lunch tin and Rainbow Dash themed sunglasses.

I absolutely love the tin! It is currently positioned on my Lush Cosmetics display shelf and is filled with Lush’s Mistletoe bath bombs. Hehe! My only quibble is the fact that yet again Rainbow Dash in the dominant character presented within the box.

In fact, the addition of the sunglasses render Rainbow Dash the box’s only included character. L This said, the sunglasses are cool and will be great for kawaii cosplay.

The tin retails for 14.95 USD (approx. 11.13 GBP). However, a price for the sunglasses could not be located. What I did discover on the brony.com site is that the sunglasses formed part of a past promotional offer. The promotion offered a free pair of these sunglasses with every purchase made on the site.

Based on the information above, I cannot say that September’s box fully passed the value for money test. As although the tin takes the value of the box above the price paid for the subscription service, the sunglasses were part of a promotional offer. As such, the contents failed to meet promised value of 20-25 USD.

Overall, as the MLP Box offers officially licensed My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic merchandise, it is a (mostly) good value for money subscription service. In addition, I know I may have come across as over critical, but I really do like this box as a whole. As such, I would absolutely recommend it. However, I would not recommend it without highlighting things that  I am not overly chuffed by. As these things could be regarded as a ‘niggle’ or problematic for others too. I am far too honest a person for that.

On the above recommendation point, it would be perfect for any MLP fan, Brony and even ‘old school’ My Little Pony fans who remember the first few generations of My Little Pony. I include the latter because who does not love a bit of nostalgia? Even if it is a fairly revamped version.

Do you subscribe to MLP Box? Or, have you subscribed previously and subsequently cancelled? I would love to hear your thoughts on the MLP Box.

If you enjoyed this review and would like to see more, follow this blog

[1] A phrase colloquially attached to male MLP fans. The term Brony is actually unisex and as such, I use the it to refer to both male and female MLP fans.

[2] The website states that boxes are shipped at the end of each month.

Leave a Reply

