My Little Pony Box: October 2016 [Subscription Box Review]

Introduction:

October’s My Little Pony Box (MLP Box) has been my favourite MLP Box received to date. Despite my frequent grumblings about Rainbow Dash being a too recurrent feature within the MLP Box, this time I am glad she was a feature. As she had arrived in the form of a POP! Vinyl figure and I have wanted this particular figure for a very long time. The Princess Celestia POP! Figure and Twilight Sparkle themed sunglasses were a welcome change of character included within the box. These products are discussed in more detail later.

General House-Keeping:

The MLP Box is a subsidy service provided by brony.com. Brony.com is an online base for MLP Bronies.[1] This base is predominantly dedicated to all things relating to the My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic franchise. The site has an online shop selling MLP merchandise and a blog area filled with the latest MLP news and releases. The subscription box and sign up can be found here.

The box retails at $9.99 plus shipping (USA: $3.25, International: $6.85). When converted into GBP the grand total for the box including shipping equates to around £12.69. Each box promises to provide one to two items of officially licensed MLP merchandise. The items within the box are promised to value between $20-$25. In British pounds this translates to around £15.06-£18.83. On this price excluding shipping, the promised value of products is a prima facie bargain.

Furthermore, in my July MLP Box review I made reference to the slow shipping and poor communication from the company’s customer services. In reference to the slow shipping, I take back my first grumble, as each box I have received since has arrived around a week after the stated shipping date.[2] However, I received neither a shipping notification nor tracking details; just as had occurred with the July box. Therefore, the earlier communication assertion remains the same. Nevertheless, I do like this box and its contents, and for this reason I will continue my subscription for the time being.

The Box Itself:

thumbnail_2016-11-28-01-51-19

October’s MLP Box provided subscribers with: Rainbow Dash POP! Vinyl figure; Princess Celestia POP! Vinyl keyring and a pair of Twilight Sparkle themed sunglasses. Discussed below.

Rainbow Dash POP! Vinyl figure:

thumbnail_2016-11-28-01-51-19-01-01

I am super happy to have received this, as I have wanted one for so long. She is ascetically a rainbow pony, therefore, what is there not to love?

This particular figure retails for around 9 GBP (11.22 USD).

Princess Celestia POP! Vinyl keyring:

thumbnail_dsc_1382-02

This keyring is so cool. I love it so much that I have already attached it to my car keys. The inclusion of a character other than Rainbow Dash was a refreshing change.

Retails for around 9.77 USD (7.83 GBP)

Twilight Sparkle themed sunglasses:

thumbnail__20161128_020447

As discussed in my last MLP Box review, the sunglasses included seem to be leftovers from a promotion run by Brony.com. As such, I cannot pinpoint a price for the sunglasses. Nevertheless, I am super glad to have finally received a Twilight Sparkle product.

I really struggle with the concept of trying to attach a monetary value onto an item which was most likely a previous promotional freebie. However, they are cute and I appreciate their inclusion within the box.

Conclusion:

Overall, the October MLP Box has been my favourite by far. I love POP! Vinyl figures, but as a 30-year-old I usually find it difficult to justify buying such products; as there are frequently more ‘practical’ things for monies to be spent on. Thus, to have them included in one of my subscription boxes is such a treat. As technically I did not go and purchase one, instead it arrived as a super pleasant surprise. Hehe!

Although the total value of the items I was able to obtain prices for slips slightly below the minimum 20 USD value the box promises, the box is excellent value for money. As even when the cost of shipping is included within the price paid for this subscription service, the value of the items far exceeds the expenditure for the box.

I highly recommend this box for: fans of all things cute; any MLP fan; Brony and even ‘old school’ My Little Pony fans who remember the first few generations of My Little Pony. I include the latter because who does not love a bit of nostalgia? Even if it is a fairly revamped version.

Do you subscribe to MLP Box? Or, have you subscribed previously and subsequently cancelled? I would love to hear your thoughts on the MLP Box.

Please subscribe to this blog if you enjoyed this review and would like to see more.

[1] A phrase colloquially attached to male MLP fans. The term Brony is actually unisex and as such, I use the it to refer to both male and female MLP fans.

[2] The website states that boxes are shipped at the end of each month.

Leave a Reply

