Spooky Box Club: Vampire Box [Subscription Box Review]

Introduction:

Since the devastating demise of Curiosity Crate, I have struggled to find gothic subscription box services adequate enough to meet my ‘fussy’ product needs. I find the lack of choice pertaining to ‘gothic/alternative’ subscription boxes baffling, as the goth and alternative scenes are hardly niche these days. Granted, such scenes are unlikely to become mainstream. These scenes are, however, far more popular than they were 10-15 years ago. As such, it is disappointing they are not proportionately catered for.  Anyways, as a serious fan of all things gothic, non-generic and/or quirky I was unbelievably excited when I discovered the Spooky Box Club subscription service.

Spooky Box Club was the only monthly box out of a handful of available ‘gothic/alternative’ subscription boxes to catch my eye enough for me to part with my pennies. And oh boy, I was not disappointed with my subscription box choice. The Spooky Box Club is one of my favourite subscription services to date. I know I am quite behind in my review of Spooky Box Club boxes (I have received 4 so far). However, as I have said with regards to my other subscription reviews, ‘better late than never’ and I am determined to catch up with them as quickly as possible.

The Vampire Box was absolutely amazing in terms of items received and value for money. Everything within each box is hand-crafted and unique to the box and its theme for the month.

General House-Keeping:

The Spooky Box Club is a UK based subscription service providing their customers with an exclusive range of ‘alternative lifestyle goods with an emphasis on cute, witchy, gothic, interests and styles.’

As each box contains 8+ items made by various manufacturers, it can take 6 to 8 weeks from your initial payment until you receive your first box. After this initial delay, the boxes generally arrive consecutively each month. However, sometimes boxes can take a little longer to dispatch and receive. This delay is for the same reason given above re your initial payment. Due to the aforementioned box time periods, the Spooky Box Club do not offer specific dispatch dates for their boxes. Instead a countdown timer is offered on their website which gives an estimated shipping date.

Currently, the ‘subscription’ service element of Spooky Box Club is not open to new customers. Instead, Spooky Box Club is operating a pre-order service. The purpose of this is to allow customers the option to ‘skip’ a box where the theme does not take their fancy. Consequently, this removes the hassle of rotating between subscribing and unsubscribing to avoid receipt of certain boxes.

The monthly cost of the box is £21 plus £3.98 UK delivery. International delivery is charged at £14.50. Boxes can be purchased here. In addition, the company donate a percentage of each box sold to different charities.

The Vampire Box can be purchased here.

The box Itself:

thumbnail_dsc_0083-01

Spooky Boxes have a different theme each month, for example the theme that followed the Vampire Box was the Haunted Library.

The Vampire Box contained the following items: DIY Wooden Coffin Shelf/Organiser; Glitter Bat Necklace; Bite Me Enamel Pin; Little Bat Pin; Glossy Vinyl Bat Bow; Coffin Hand Mirror; Iron on Batty Elbow Patches; Liquorice flavoured Gourmet lollipop; Bat Shoe Wings and 2 Pairs of Satin Laces.

All of the above items were custom made for the Spooky Box Club.

DIY Wooden Coffin Shelf/Organiser:

thumbnail_DSC_0081-02.jpg

I love this shelf. It is super cute in size, whilst still being large enough to display various trinkets. I think I will paint mine gold with an iridescent glitter topcoat.

Glitter Bat Necklace:

thumbnail_DSC_0081-01.jpg

The dinky sized bat on this necklace is absolutely adorable. It is delicate enough to adorn as an everyday piece of jewellery.

Bite Me Enamel Pin and Little Bat Pin:

thumbnail_DSC_0075-02.jpg

These are amazing, those who read my reviews will know I adore badges. I will be attaching them to my favourite jacket.

Glossy Vinyl Bat Bow:

thumbnail_dsc_0076-02

Simply stunning. I will most definitely enjoy wearing this.

Coffin Hand Mirror:

thumbnail_DSC_0080-02.jpg

Iron on Batty Elbow Patches:

thumbnail_DSC_0078-01.jpg

These are chuffin’ awesome! I have attached them to my favourite jeans which already have some exclusive Lush Oxford Street patches.

Bat Shoe Wings and Satin Laces:

thumbnail_DSC_0085-02.jpg

The wings were my favourite item within the Vampire Box – which is saying a lot as there was nothing within the box I disliked.

Conclusion:

Overall, I am struggling to find the words to articulate how much I loved the Vampire Box. Everything was perfectly right up my street. The items were all useful in nature, which is a massive bonus as I already have too many things cluttering up my home.

Due to the fact that all items are custom made for Spooky Box Club boxes, monetary values are difficult to decipher. However, based on the exclusive, high quality and hand-crafted nature of the products given I highly recommend the Vampire box as excellent value for money.

Spooky Box Club is perfect for fans of the alternative/gothic scenes, as well as those who enjoy filling their home with non-generic handmade goodies.

As stated earlier, there can be a long wait between making your initial payment and receiving your first box. So, if you like to know precise shipping dates and seek a speedy dispatch after purchase, the Spooky Box Club may not be for you. I personally do not mind waiting for my box, as the items inside are so unique and well-crafted that I find the box is worth waiting for. This is especially so because such subscription boxes give me a mental boost as they are something for me to look forward to.

Do you subscribe to Spooky Box Club? How do you think Spooky Box Club compares to other gothic/alternative subscription services?

 

Leave a Reply

