Spooky Box Club: Dead Cute Box [Subscription Box Review]

Introduction:

Advertised as A box filled with creepy cute treats for pastel goths everywhere’ the Dead Cute box from Spooky Box Club did not disappoint! It most definitely made up for the Spirits and Spells box – for which I still feel pangs of guilt when I think of the review I wrote. However, as I have said throughout this blog (including within my bio), I am an honest person and as such, I gave my honest opinion. But I digress.

The Dead Cute box’s contents were absolutely out of this world amazing. Included within the box was a headband which I have worn frequently, as it is legitimately the ‘dog’s bollocks’ in my opinion. This box is perfect for those who love gothic accessories that have a cute, bordering on kawaii twist. The full review is provided below.

General House-Keeping:

The Spooky Box Club is a UK based subscription service providing their customers with an exclusive range of ‘alternative lifestyle goods with an emphasis on cute, witchy, gothic, interests and styles.’

As each box contains 8+ items made by various manufacturers, it can take 8 to 12 weeks from your initial payment until you receive your first box. After this initial delay, the boxes generally arrive consecutively each month. However, sometimes boxes can take a little longer to dispatch and receive. This delay is for the same reason given above re your initial payment. Due to the aforementioned box time periods, the Spooky Box Club do not offer specific dispatch dates for their boxes. Instead a countdown timer is offered on their website which gives an estimated shipping date.

Currently, the Spooky Box Club operates a ‘subscription’ and a pre-order service. The purpose of the pre-order service is to allow customers the option to ‘skip’ a box where the theme does not take their fancy. Consequently, this removes the hassle of rotating between subscribing and unsubscribing to avoid receipt of certain boxes. For me, I just keep the subscription rolling on, as there is usually something I love.

The monthly cost of the box is £21 plus £3.98 UK delivery. International delivery is charged at £14.50. Boxes can be subscribed to here. In addition, the company donate a percentage of each box sold to charity.

The Dead Cute box can be purchased here.

The Box Itself:

Spooky Boxes have a different theme each month, for example the theme that follows the Dead Cute box is the Memento Mori box.

The Dead Cute box contained: A Spiked Headband; Bat Patterned Make-Up Bag; Velvet Choker Necklace; a Bat Pendant; Skull Bracelet Charm; Nail Art Gems; Lilac Blood Patch; Melty Bow Hair Clip; ‘Anti-Socialite’ Heart Shaped Pin and a Lollipop.

All of the above items were custom made for the Dead Cute box.

Spiked Headband:

This Headband is legit too awesome. It reminds me of the dog collars I used to wear when I was a teen. Actually, who am I kidding, I wore dog collars throughout my twenties too – and still do when I go to a gothic nightclub.

Bat Patterned Make-Up Bag and Velvet Choker Necklace:

These are my next in line favourite goodies that were within the Dead Cute box, secondary to the headband discussed above. Like my spiked dog collars, I equally love chokers of all patterns and sizes. The inclusion a lilac choker is a much welcome addition to my ever growing fitted round the neck accessory collection.

The bag is gorgeous and as soon as I received it I started to fill it up with my favourite make up.

Bat Pendant:

This goes so well with the velvet collar. It is almost as if they were made for each other.

‘Anti-Socialite’ Heart Shaped Pin:

This pin is so me. I could not find more fitting words to describe myself and now I can wave it around via my awesome beanie. The beanie was provided in the Urban Gothic box.

Lilac Blood Patch:

Nail Art Gem Kit:

Melty Bow Hair Clip:

Conclusion:

Overall, the Dead Cute box is another win from Spooky Box Club. It provided a variety of unique items that were not only gorgeous, but they were usable in an everyday context. As such, based on all the fantastic items within the Dead Cute box, I honestly cannot wait for the next box to arrive.

Due to the fact that all items are custom made for Spooky Box Club boxes, monetary values are difficult to decipher. However, based on the exclusive, high quality and handcrafted nature of the products given, I highly recommend the Spooky Box Club as providers of excellent value for money. This confident assertion is despite the fact that I am aware that estimating the value of Spooky Box Club boxes is purely subjective.

The Spooky Box Club is perfect for fans of the alternative/gothic scenes, as well as those who enjoy filling their home with non-generic handmade goodies.

As I stated earlier, there can be a long wait between making your initial payment and receiving your first box. So, if you like to know precise shipping dates and seek a speedy dispatch after purchase, the Spooky Box Club may not be for you. I personally do not mind waiting for my box, as the items inside are so unique and well-crafted that I find the box is worth waiting for.

Do you subscribe to Spooky Box Club? How do you think Spooky Box Club compares to other gothic/alternative subscription services?

 

Leave a Reply

